Board Meeting Minutes, May 16, 2019

Board Meeting Minutes, April 11, 2019

Board Meeting Minutes, March 28, 2019

Temple Sinai depends in large part on volunteers who give their time, energy, and expertise in helping our mission move forward. Our Temple Board comprises a cross-section of members who meet on a monthly basis to discuss issues particular to the synagogue values, goals, membership, and property. Substantially all board meetings are open to the entire membership.

The Executive Committee meets once a month to review in more detail the concerns of the day, the financial health of the organization, and long-range planning.

To get involved contact Drew Barkley, Executive Director, at (412) 421-9715 X 111.

View our 2020 Strategic Plan

View our Bylaws, Adopted 2018


2019-20 Leadership  


President: Saul Straussman
1st Vice President: Alison Yazer
2nd Vice President: Stephen Jurman
3rd Vice President: Elizabeth Collura
Treasurer: Jerry Katz
Assistant Treasurer: Mara Kaplan
Secretary: Lynn Rubenson
Financial Secretary: Josh Lederer

Immediate Past President: Philip L. Lehman
Past President: Nancy E. Gale

Elected/”At Large” Trustees

Three-year Term Ending 2020
Morgan Faeder
Elizabeth Monaco
Katie Whitlatch
Lynda Wrenn

Two-year Term Ending 2020
Gina Faiola
Suzie Hauptman
William Taxay

Two-year Term Ending 2021
Marc Adelsheimer
Marcia Baumfeld
Rachel Kudrick
Paul Pitts
Samantha Skobel


Center/Auxiliary Board Representatives and Heads

Organization Board Rep President/Head/Chair


Term ends 2020

Laura Fehl

Susan Blackman


Term ends 2021

Todd Miller

Harton Wolf, Joe Weinkle

 Youth Group  (PARTY)




 Neshama Center

 Term ends 2020

Ben Wecht

Michael Collura

 Midrash Center




 B'racha Center



Mara Kaplan

 Tikkun Olam Center

 Term ends 2020

Josh Breslau

Brianna McDonough
















Executive Committee/Personnel Practices Committee: Saul Straussman
Nominating Committee:  Philip L. Lehman
Financial Committee/Budget/Financial Policy/Investment Committees: Jerry Katz
Memorial Park Committee: Marc Darling
Bylaws Committee: NA
Facilities Committee: Jerry Katz
Development Committee: Philip L. Lehman
Annual Fundraising Committee: Alison Yazer
Program Coordinating Committee: Alison Yazer

Ad Hoc

Marketing Committee:  Lynn Rubenson
Strategic Planning Committee [Sh’ma]: Nancy Gale
Membership and Engagement Committee: None


Program Enhancement Committee: Josh Breslau


Lifetime Honorary Trustees

Shirley Goldstein
Ellen F. Katzen
Estelle Mann
Carol Rosenthal (voting 2017-2035)


Past Presidents

  1. Hon. Benjamin Lencher (1946-1948)*
  2. Harry H. Buchman (1948-1950)*
  3. Marcus Shafer (1950-1956)*
  4. Irwin Lockhart (1956-1959)*
  5. Nathan Katzen (1959-1962)*
  6. Oscar A. Spirer (1962-1964)*
  7. Morris Ginsburg (1964-1967)*
  8. Isadore H. Abrams (1967-1968)*
  9. Samuel N. Goldman (1968-1970)*
  10. Carl Hamburg (1970-1973)*
  11. Norman P. Wolken (1973-1975)*
  12. Louis S. Frankel (1975-1977)*
  13. Lee Hammerschmidt (1977-1979)*
  14. H. Jerome Zoffer, PhD (1979-1981)§
  15. Herman D. Greenberg (1981-1983)*
  16. Linda Leebov Goldston (1983-1985)*
  17. Simon Kellman (1985-1987)*
  18. Rhoda Dorfzaun (1987-1989)§
  19. Alan Cookson (1989-1991)§
  20. Fredda Stang (1991-1993)*
  21. Robert M. Katzen (1993-1995)§
  22. Louise R. Malakoff (1995-1997)§
  23. Marvin B. Adelson (1997-1999)§
  24. William Brandeis (1999-2001)§
  25. Jay Silberblatt (2001-2003)§
  26. Rita Pollock (2003-2005)§
  27. Robert S. Bernstein (2005-2007)§
  28. Frank Schwarz (2007-2009)§
  29. Edward Korenman (2009-2011)§
  30. David Hirsch (2011-2013) (voting)
  31. Richard D. Kalson (2013-2015) (voting)
  32. Nancy E. Gale (2015-2017) (voting)
  33. Philip L. Lehman, PhD (2017-2019) (voting)


§ Emeritus/Emerita



Stay connected to our community!